How to Uninstall a Plugin the Right Way

Want to uninstall a plugin on your WordPress site the right way? Plugins add extra functionality to allow WordPress to do things it normally couldn’t do without extra coding or at least they make certain functions much easier. Every plugin will slow down your website. Although this can be a very small slowdown, Samoa B2B List it can become noticeable if you have too many plugins.

Many web developers will rely heavily on plugins at first. This is completely normal, but there will come a time when you will realize that a certain plugin is not necessary or can be done with a few lines of code. You may need to uninstall a plugin. Today I’m going to show you how to uninstall a plugin the right way.

What Is the Advantage of Using Plugins

You might be wondering if plugins are slowing down your website, how can they be worth it? It is true that plugins slow down your website, but not by much. Only when using multiple plugins can this become noticeable. One of the biggest draws of the WordPress platform is being able to build a successful website without writing a single line of code.

Plugins make this possible. There are thousands of plugins available on WordPress that all add unique functionality to websites. Without plugins, every web developer would have to have some coding knowledge to get basic functionality on their website. As you can imagine, not everyone knows coding, but it’s a very valuable skill.

How to Uninstall a Plugin the Right Way

Samoa B2B List

Today I’m going to show you how to uninstall a plugin the right way. If you don’t use a plugin, it slows down your website, increases your backup size, and can create a security hazard. How is that a safety hazard, you ask? If your website is hacked, chances are the hacker left a backdoor on your website. Plugin files, especially those that are disabled, are a great place to hide backdoors since you wouldn’t normally look into those files.

 

Before you can remove a plugin, you must first deactivate the plugin. Many newbies think that disabling a plugin is like deleting it, and that’s not true. The plugin is still on your website and all of its files are on the back-end of your website. Each time you deactivate a plugin, you must also uninstall it. A plugin that is not in use is called an inactive plugin and is a waste of space.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *